Java and Flex

I’ve been developing software using Java for several years now. I’ve always wanted to try something in the RIA world. This entry is part of my journey in learning Adobe’s Flex.

After reading a book on Flex Programming, I wanted to see if I could use Maven to build a Flex application with a Java backend. I simply love to use Maven in building my Java programs. So, I set out to see if there are Maven archetypes for Flex. Luckily, I found this and this.

I’m still playing around with it. So far, I have four modules (in a multi-module build):

  • config (pom/zip)
  • core (jar)
  • ria (swf)
  • web (war)

My goal is to create Maven-based build that uses LiveCycle DS (LCDS), Flex, Hibernate/EJB3/JPA, and Cairngorm. If someone else has done this before, please let me know.

For the build, I’ve used GraniteDS AS3 code generator to generate AS3 value objects from Java entities/value-objects.

I’ll blog more about this as I proceed.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

